KUbuntu 7.10

Yesterday, I downloaded and burned the new Gusty KUbuntu 7.10 on my laptop. I expected to see KDE 4 which was announced to have a new re-design for KDE environment. The ISO image is a normal LiveCD as before. I booted the liveCD and installed it as I did in previous versions.

After I finished the installation, I restarted my laptop to enter the new installed OS. but I faced a black screen after selecting the OS from the startup menu. I re-installed it again, but the same black boot screen appeared.

After about 1 hour from searching internet for a solution. I found the solution which worked for me. Here is the solution:
1- From the selection boot menu select Recovery mode.
2- after booting in recovery mode, type exit and press enter.
3- the gui will start and u can log in
4- Change the resolution in /etc/usplash.conf to 1024×768
5- Add vga=791 to the kernel line in /boot/grub/menu.lst
6- sudo update-initramfs -u -k `uname -r`      (note the direction of the stray)

now reboot, and everything goes fine. the problem was in the resolution of the boot screen, it was not fitting my laptop 15.4 wide screen.

I’m now able to log in to the KUbuntu 7.10. The first look gives me nothing. the same look as before with K menu at left, and blue background (with some changed effect for kubuntu).

I open the Konqueror file manager, and I found that KDE 3.5.8 is the KDE version installed with the 7.10, but I noticed something, the window open very fast, it was faster than it was before in KDE, with the jumping cursor which stay jumping forever even application if open and even computer is OFF !! now, the window is opening faster, and this is a good point.

Dolphin is a new file manager shipped with kubuntu. with Dolphin, I accessed Windows shares on another computer very easily, and all my Windows drives were seen very easily.

One of things made me angry, it the sources.list, it almost contains no repository, and it was not easy to install firefox, thunderbird, kdevelop or eclipse. I searched internet for other sources.list, and I found some other repositories.

I will still testing this version, and I will write more for any other points.

 

Leave a Reply

